

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting

The Key Learning Centre, Oxford Castle 4.30pm Wednesday 20 October 2010

Present:

Mel Barrett, Oxford City Council Jim Blackwell, Worcester City Council Steve Carvell, Chichester District Council Sean Coghlan, Lichfield District Council Debbie Dance, Chair HTF Vanessa Gregory, Individual Member Ian Heggie Jennifer Heggie Brian Human, Vice Chair HTF Richard Tuffrey, Treasurer HTF Noël James, Director designate HTF Helen Johnson, HTF John Norman, Paul Origo, Gibraltar (Non Member) Prue Smith, Individual Member Steve Tilbury, Winchester City Council Chris Winter, Director HTF John Wrightson, Worcester City Council Tony Wyatt, _space group

1. Apologies:

Kate Dickson Nick Hayward, RPS Cllr Elizabeth Higgins, Warwick District Council Michael Loveday, HEART/Living Streets Graham Reddie, West MASA Peter Studdert, Cambridgeshire Council

2. Minutes of the meeting held at Chichester on 21 October 2009 Agreed as a true record.

3. Matters Arising

None not covered by the agenda.

4. Presentation of the 2010 Annual Report

i. DD referred to the **Chair's report** and commented that a great deal had happened in the past year. She welcomed Noël James, who would take over as Director on 1 November, and asked Members to support her in the coming year. The publication of PPS5 and the Comprehensive Spending Review would be significant and with uncertain times ahead the role and work of the Forum in supporting the membership was more crucial than ever.

The continuing support of UWE and the Planning School was noted and a number of meetings with the Dean and others had secured their continuing support providing a sound base.

A number of points from the report were discussed:

- ii. **Publications:** It was agreed that HTF publications should be made available to Members to download free of charge as an additional benefit of Membership. Hard copies would be available to buy by non-members.
- iii. Sponsorship: In his absence DD thanked Nick Hayward, who represented the Forum's Partner/Sponsors on the Executive Committee. A number of potential new Partners had been identified with a view to gaining their support over the next year and increasing the number of Partners. Bircham Dyson Bell had hosted a successful Partners' dinner in the Spring and had indicated their support for another event in the coming year. Members were asked to forward any potential contacts who might become HTF Partners.
- iv. **Membership:** CW confirmed that in spite of the current financial climate membership and support for the Forum remained encouraging with no overall decrease in numbers.
- v. Action Plan: Taking account of the current climate and the resources available to the Forum a 12 Point Action Plan was presented and endorsed by the meeting.
- vi. **Financial Report:** RT presented the Business Plan which had been updated following the 2009 AGM and which included the Financial Strategy, guiding the work of the Forum. Using the skills and expertise of the Forum in partnership projects had been a success and further opportunities would be pursued as a priority. It was also vital to maximise the return on events. Whilst it was still important to recruit and train members, the difficulties in doing this during the current financial climate were recognised. It was important to continue to offer good services and grow in public profile if members and partners were to be encouraged to support the Forum.
- vii. **Membership Fees:** After discussion it was agreed Membership fees should remain at the same rate and this should be used as a positive 'headline' for existing Members.

5. Election of Executive Committee members

The Meeting agreed to the appointment of the following members as set out in the Annual Report:

Standing for a further year:

Mel Barrett Steve Carvell Sean Coghlan Nick Hayward Stephen Langtree Steve Tilbury Richard Tuffrey Tony Wyatt Oxford City Council Chichester District Council Lichfield District Council Partners' representative Civic & Amenity representative Winchester City Council High Peak Borough Council Corporate representative

Co-opted members standing for a further year:

Steve Bee	English Heritage
Brian Human	Independent / former Chair & Vice Chair
David Humphreys	Northern Ireland representative
Michael Loveday	HEART / Living Streets

lan Poole	St Edmundsbury Borough Council
John Preston	Cambridge City Council
Prue Smith	Independent

New Executive members:

lan Brown	Canterbury City Council
Jim Blackwell	Worcester City Council
Dave Warburton	York City Council
Dave Chetwyn	Independent

Thanks were expressed to those Members who were standing down: Andrea Pellegram - Independent; Andrew Dobson - Lancaster City Council; Chris Hargreaves - Birmingham City Council and John Wrightson - Worcester City Council.

BH was standing down as Vice Chair but would remain on the Executive Committee and was to be replaced by Tony Wyatt. SC and RT continue as Vice Chair and Hon Treasurer for the coming year. The Meeting agreed these appointments and DD thanked the Executive Officers RT, SC and BH for their support and the staff for hard work and commitment

6. Partners Report

None

7. AOB

i. **Chris Winter:** Chris was thanked for considerable contribution to the work of the Forum, wishing her well for the future. The Conference Dinner was to take place later in the evening when there would be a further opportunity to thank her.

Following the meeting the Executive Officers, BH, JB and Helen Johnson met with the new director Noël James.

28/10/10